Feeling Inspired

Walking through the garment district in New York City was a lot of fun for me.  The rest of the family was mostly tolerating it for my sake, so I drank in a lot through store windows and didn’t pester for time to browse endlessly through the shops.  Visiting Mood was fantastic.  Where I am, JoAnn Fabrics is the happening place to buy fabric.  What fun it was to see the mountains of variety in fabrics!  The lace fabrics alone were mouth watering, then you throw in the trims and appliques.  I’m just a home sewer, making clothes for myself and kids, but it was Heaven to see all of those beautiful fabrics.

My mom laughed to hear that all I bought was a book.  What she doesn’t understand is how high my stack of projects currently is, and I have the materials for each one already.  To purchase fabric would have been foolish, though it was incredibly tempting.  The book I purchased was on creating patterns.  I may never create a pattern from scratch.  That said, the more I learn about how patterns are created, the better I can tailor an existing pattern for better fit, or just tweak it for personal preference.  I already make small adjustments to suit our tastes, so it would be good to know the proper way to do so.

After visiting Mood and lusting after all of the fabric, I started paying attention to the clothing around us.  I am not a fashionista.  Never have been, never will be.  That does not mean, however, that I don’t appreciate fun/cool/pretty/flattering clothes.  I also have two teenage daughters whom I love to make pretty clothing for.

Yes, my girls do like my home-sewn garments.  They aren’t fashionistas either.  My sensory daughter likes things make with crushed panne fabric – a knit which looks a bit velvety and is often featured for Halloween costumes.  She loves it because it is comfortable to wear, and has a texture pleasing to run her fingers on.   You can’t walk in to the mall and find clothes in this fabric.  I first made Renaissance dresses for them with crushed panne, then used the leftovers for a shirt pattern with a peplum for each of them.

One year, my oldest and I found a denim with silver metallic thread all through it (on clearance!) and she flipped it to the back side and liked it even better.  The front was more navy and the back more silver, so of course the back side had to be the “right” side used.  That threw me off a few times in the construction.  That is such a favorite skirt of hers that it has a name.  (Mithrial – for you JRR Tolkien fans)

So, paying attention to the clothing around me brought ideas to mind.  There are many many new projects floating around in my head.  Most of which are for the girls.  I need to buckle down and get some sewing done so I can get to new projects.  My sensory gal is getting her fancy dress this year, and chose Galadriel’s outfit from the Hobbit.  It’s a simple, silky dress with applique near the neckline.  JoAnn’s did not have any appliques which seemed right, so I’m going to attempt beading my own.

DH thinks I’m nuts.  I never said it will be easy.  Yesterday, my daughter and I looked at several outlines and design ideas and came up with one which isn’t too large and doesn’t seem too complicated.  Fingers crossed!  I’ll be beading on tulle, tracing the pattern on with a Frixion pen.  I think I spelled that right.  Heat makes the ink dissolve.  We’ll just let the creativity loose and have fun.  It’s all about the process, right?

About homereferee

I'm a stay at home mom who sometimes feels more like a tape recorder yelling, "Get apart!".
This entry was posted in clothing, family, sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

