Getting it off My Chest

This post will not be politically correct.  I’m not planning to be rude to anyone, I just want to voice my concern for my children without worrying about my wording or other people’s feelings.  This is about my children.

Today, President Obama has issued a letter to public schools declaring that students should be able to use the bathroom of the gender with which they identify.  I would like to bring in an old saying:

“Your right to throw a punch ends at my nose.”  Meaning: You have your rights, and I have mine.  As long as we don’t infringe upon each others’ rights, all is well.

To me, allowing young men into the girls’ bathroom infringes upon my daughters’ rights.  They have the right to privacy.  My son and daughter both took their clothes into the bathroom stalls when changing for gym class.  They don’t want to be exposed to their peers of the same sex, let alone the opposite sex.  Don’t think this trend in the bathroom won’t soon extend to school locker rooms.

There was a young man in the girls’ bathroom at our high school yesterday.  Who is going to ask him if he identifies as a girl?  Of course he’ll say yes, even if he’s just a creep there to see how much he can get a peep of.  How many kids will dare each other to go into the others’ bathroom just to do it?  I remember high school.  The dares will come.  The can of worms is open and they are covering the floor.

Two days ago I overheard a mom telling her girls to go to the restroom in pairs – always, and for the reason that a man could be in there and you have to protect yourself from potential harm.  Do I think that someone will harm my child simply because they identify themselves as the opposite gender?  No.  I’m more worried about the creeps who will take advantage of the new rules.  I’ve told my kids that they, too, should follow the rule of pairs for bathroom trips.

Some will call me a hater.  They won’t believe me when I say I’m simply standing up for my children and the discomfort they will feel and (in the case of creeps) the potential harm that could come their way as a result of this new system.  I don’t know what the solution is for those who identify with a gender other than that of their birth, but I’m not sure this particular solution was fully thought through.

 

About homereferee

I'm a stay at home mom who sometimes feels more like a tape recorder yelling, "Get apart!".
This entry was posted in children, family, school, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting it off My Chest

  1. sage_brush says:

    There already exists a man who “identifies” as a little girl. We truly are living the “days of Noah.” And I’m afraid things will get worse before they get better (when the Lord returns)

    http://www.charismanews.com/opinion/in-the-line-of-fire/53811-the-father-of-7-who-believes-he-s-a-6-year-old-girl

Leave a Reply

