Things I Want to Do

My middle daughter sometimes frustrates DH as she is interested in everything and is always reading about something new without carrying learning to the finish line on the last thing she was exploring.  In thinking about that, she may have inherited that gene.  There are so many things I’d like to learn and yet I don’t have time for the things I already know how to do.

This past year I made a basket from a kit.  I’ve thought about just buying supplies, but I’m not sure I’m cut out for basketry just yet.  I think I’ll buy at least one more kit before deciding about investing in supplies, which can get quite costly.  I want to feel that I enjoy it enough to deal with sore hands and frustrating spots.  I’d also like to see some ability to make a uniform basket, as to me a basket should be functional yet still be appealing to the eye.  The basket which I made is intended for collecting produce from my garden, assuming I can grow enough to justify needing a basket to carry it:).

A few weeks ago I went to a class with my neighbor and made soap for the first time.  I just put a bar in the shower to try.  I’m curious as to whether or not it will help with my itchy, winter skin.  I inherited the skin from my father, who used to scratch his legs with a comb because they bothered him so greatly, and my skin woke me up at three a.m. today.  I was prickling and itching so much that I couldn’t sleep.  I got up for a while to try to take my mind off of it, but to no avail.  I hopped in the shower, it felt worse.  I lotioned after the shower, and it started to calm down.  I’m really hoping the home made soap will help.  If it does, I’ll continue with making soap, and will look at silicone molds (Christmas money) to make nice uniform bars, which DH will appreciate.  Of course, if I just plain like the soap and still have itchy skin I’ll continue making soap anyway.

Two years ago I bought a large knitting book, some needles and supplies, a friend re-introduced me to knitting (I had done a little when around 9 years old), and there it has sat.  I need to pull it out while watching tv with DH in the evenings.  If I don’t have sewing or crocheting in my lap, that is.

This year I’m looking at drop spindles.  I suppose that wanting to spin yarn is a natural progression for someone who’s been crocheting for 3 decades – my Grandmother taught me when I was 10 – and who is also interesting in knitting.  Do I really have time to take it up?  No.  It’s been gnawing at me for years, though.  I love to watch carding and spinning at historical re-creations and would love to learn the wheel, but that’s pricey and the wheel would take up space we don’t have.  The treadle sewing machine is already taking up extra room.

The treadle sewing machine, purchased this summer, still needs attention before I can learn to use it.  The cabinet top desperately needs to be sanded and refinished so it won’t snag fabric.  I bought an extra belt for it the last time I was at the Amish hardware store, just to have the spare part because it will eventually be needed and the Amish stores are 40 minutes away.  I only go 3-4 times a year.

I started growing some herbal remedies this year as well.  Only the yarrow and chamomile were successful this year, but I’ll try again.  Others I’m trying are: dill, calendula, oregano, lavender, and rosemary.  My mother in law has elderberry bushes and doesn’t currently use the berries, so she’s already told me I can have them next year to try making elderberry syrup, which is supposed to help prevent colds and flu.

I canned pickles and peach jelly this summer.  The jelly was made from peels and pits instead of a traditional method, because I like doing things the hard way.  You could say I’m a glutton for punishment.  Next year I’d like to put up some salsa and maybe do some apple jelly – made from cores and peels, of course.

When I tried quilting, my mother told me to do a small project first.  Did I listen?  No!  I made a king size quilt.  That’s the size of our bed, was my reasoning.

Have I made my point?  I can’t fault my daughter’s many interests as I’m the same way.  We may or may not master each new skill, but I suppose there are worse things than to be interested in learning so much.  I suppose the day I ought to worry is the day when nothing is sparking my interest anymore.

About homereferee

I'm a stay at home mom who sometimes feels more like a tape recorder yelling, "Get apart!".
This entry was posted in cooking, gardening in town, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

